Nordic snowflakes

The first Sunday in Advent means the beginning of a four week period filled with baking, decorating, and in my case, crafting. Here is a simple free pattern for a Nordic snowflake ornament designed by me. It takes me about an hour to make one, so you can whip up a snowstorm. Let the chaos begin!

(Seriously, if the hustle and bustle has caught you, remove yourself at once. Christmastide was not intended to have you pulling your hair out or have kids so wound up they cry. Or you cry. Ignore it for the day, watch a winter themed movie like Frozen and pretend it’s June^^)

Nordic Snowflake

You will need
2 31×31 squares of Aida or other 18 count cross stitch fabric
1 skein embroidery floss in desired color; I used red.
A little bit of stuffing, or a cotton ball
A small piece of sturdy thread for hanging.

Nordic Snowflake Ornaments
First, here’s the pattern in chart form. I may replace it with a better copy later. If you need to learn how to cross stitch, there’s some great instructions here. If that doesn’t help let me know and I’ll walk you through it. You can do it!

Nordic Snowflake Ornaments
There should be 4 squares around the edges, not 3. I’m not going to whine about it though; I’ll just be more careful measuring next time^^

Nordic Snowflake Ornaments
To assemble the ornament do a running stitch. Make sure there are 3 squares on the outside of the stitches (unless you followed me right into cutting it wrong!)

Nordic Snowflake Ornaments
When you have three sides sewn up, put the stuffing/spread out cotton ball in there.

Nordic Snowflake Ornaments
Finish the last side’s stitches, then knot and hid the ends.

Nordic Snowflake Ornaments
Fray the outer edges by pulling two rows of squares on each side and then add a thread loop for hanging. Done!

Nordic Snowflake Ornaments
Additional patterns, pre-made ornaments, and kits are available at
ETSY and Storenvy

6 thoughts on “Nordic snowflakes

  1. I love this, thanks for sharing it! I love handmade decorations, but it’s been a few years since I’ve made anything new for the tree. I’m not the best cross-stitcher, but I think I’ll give this a shot!

Leave a Reply

